icon

Winisdpro, Infinity Perfect Box

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jdog0411 
Copper - Posts: 150
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 08, 2005 at 11:11 AM / IP Logged  

Hey you Winisd experts out there, could I get some assistance modeling a box I'm thinking of building?

I am not that handy with that program, and even when I do model something up, I am still learning how to interpret the graphs into meaningful information from a listening perspective. I am currently running an Infinity Kappa Perfect 12 in a small 1 cubic foot sealed enclosure. I am underpowing the sub (MTX amp pushing 210 watts RMS) and the sub is rated at 300rms which I believe is lowballing it. I like the sound of the sealed enclosure, but I know that I need it to be larger and I need to feed the sub more power. I like the sound quality, but want more SPL out of the system.

I was going to go ported, but now I think I am going to add a second sub to the system and put them both in a sealed enclosure. However, I want to give each sub more volume to work with (1 cubic foot is factory recommendation, but from what I've heard it will perform better with more volume). I want to build a dual chamber sealed enclosure for the two subs. I will be powering them with 400 watts to each. These are the single 4 ohm voice coil model. I don't have the room for a dual ported enclosure (the box would have to be huge) so sealed it is. This will be going into an Explorer, and I have an area about 40"W x 25"L x 15" H to work with.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

2004 BMW 325ci.
Alpine CDA-9885
JL 300/4 and 250/1
JL XR 5.25 comps
Infinity Kappa Perfect 12
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: July 08, 2005 at 12:02 PM / IP Logged