the12volt.com spacer
icon

What do you all you do for a living?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Member - Posts: 38
Member spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2005 at 4:24 PM / IP Logged  
I currently work at Best Buy. I've been with the company for about 3 years and have been the Mobile Supervisor for only about 5 months give or take. Is installing a job or a hobby for most of you?
us_test 
Copper - Posts: 200
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2005 at 5:35 PM / IP Logged  
hoobby - (but one day I want to have a shop).  I'm a Helpdesk Manager. 6.5 years in IT.
(1) Kenwood Excelon Head Unit KDC-X589 (24 bit Burr Brown DAC, 3 X 4 volt RCA).
(1) RF Punch 250A2 - running the components.
(1) Hifonics 6.5" Atlas Components (18db crossovers).
boulderguy 
Silver - Posts: 510
Silver spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2005 at 5:44 PM / IP Logged  

Obsessive hobby for 20 yrs or so.  I tend to obsess about what & how until I get it done, then leave it alone for 4-5 years until a new car comes along.  Which means I'll disappear from here again.

Got started when guys in high school would steal car stereos.  I never wanted to do that, but was the only one who could figure out how to wire them up (apologies in advance for my aberrant teenage behavoir).  So I got to experiment on their cars long before I ever got one.  Good thing.  I remember hooking one up & running across a disconnected wire harness under the hood.  I figured it was supposed to be plugged in, so I connected it, secretly thinking maybe his '79 Rabbit would have 30 more horsepower.  Later that guy had to drive clear across town to the mechanic because his horn wouldn't turn off...So, can I help you hook up that cruise control??

Member spacespace
Posted: July 09, 2005 at 5:48 PM / IP Logged  

us_test wrote:
hoobby - (but one day I want to have a shop).  I'm a Helpdesk Manager. 6.5 years in IT.