icon

'87 Cavalier RS Tail Lights

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Dread_lord 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: July 26, 2005 at 9:20 PM / IP Logged  

Just recently my tail lights, parking lights, dashboard lights and console lights all went out, but the head lights, turn signals, curtousy light, liscense plate light, ashtray light, glove box light, brake lights and back up lights all still work.  I checked all the fuses, and replaced them all regardless if they looked blown or not.  I'm a newb to mobile electrics, but I don't think those lights run off of any relays so I didn't try that (there's also only 3 relays under the dash I believe, and one of them is for the turn signals).  I bought a new light switch, didn't solve the problem.  Since it's my only car, I tried hotwiring them and it worked - one wire from the red power wire to the yellow headlight wire, and one wire from the power wire to the brown tail light wire - but it eventually fried that brown wire, luckily though I don't think it fried anything else because everything else all still works.  So now I have a fried wire to deal with.  I started to rip the dashboard apart, but quickly figured out that that was way easier said then done.  Postponing that, and hoping that I don't have to do it, I'm looking for some help/advice/diagrams.  You'd think it would be easy to trace a fried wire, but not in that mess. 

Is it possible for me to just rewire the whole tail light situation with a diagram, or is where ever that brown wire from the switch harness leading not working?  Is it something simple? i.e. some sort of relay or chip or something?  Regardless, I'm still going to have to rewire that brown tail light wire, so I'm going to need a diagram or something.  I don't know, besides stereo systems this is my first encounter with more then minor electrical problems.  ANY help/advice/input would be GREATLY appreciated.