icon

99 Buick Regal GS , Prestige APS-996A

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
RegalGS 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: August 15, 2005 at 9:42 PM / IP Logged  

I have a 99 Buick Regal GS (Supercharged).  I have been looking at the Prestige APS-996A.  I want to install it myself but have never done an alarm/remote start before.  I heard this is a tough one to install.  Also, I found this page...

https://www.the12volt.com/wireinfo/volt.asp?Year=1999&Make=Buick&Model=Regal&Table=Security

It doesn't say anything about a passlock (Not even sure what that is, a relay of some sort?).  Do I need it?  My key does have a chip in it.  Do I need to disable the stock alarm somehow?  Any information would be great.  I am very worried about doing it but cannot afford to have it done.  I have done tons of stereos so I am not a complete newbie.

I found the install instructions online

http://www.audiovox.com/manuals/owners/APS-996A128-6773.pdf

There are wires that are not even listed in the first link that I posted.  Any additional wires I need to know about other than the ones above?  How do you know if you need to utilize and connect all the wires or not?

Do you guys cut the wires and then use butt connectors to splice into them?  Or do you leave the stock wires intact and just strip off insulation to get to them?  I have a soldering iron and very good soldering skills (I'm a tech at a lighting control company).

Any information would be great, thanks.

godblessdremil 
Silver - Posts: 273
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 15, 2005 at 10:39 PM / IP Logged