icon

xplore xr-7025 in escalade

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
escaladeballa 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2005 at 11:11 PM / IP Logged  

a professional alarm installer couldnt get this alarm to lock/unlock doors and arm/disarm correctly. i paid them $240 and they took it out, anyone know what they were doing wrong or have experience with this alarm: rockwood xplore xr-7025. the install was in 99 escalade, they had bypass module.

endless talent 
Member - Posts: 45
Member spacespace
Posted: August 19, 2005 at 1:38 AM / IP Logged  

I have been installing alarms at a professional level for over six years now, as I'm sure many others here have too.  One lesson I learned very early in the game is that with something as complex as an alarm in today's cars, you have to use the best, most reliable systems available.  I have never even heard of Rockwood, except as a cheap spin-off amplifer sold at Pep Boys or the flea market, so I wouldn't be surprised if the system is either faulty, not equipped with enough output/programmable options to be fully compatible with your vehicle, or even has installation instructions that are hardly ledgible, due to a poor translation, which are all common traits of lower-end systems.  I promise you will have far better results if you buy a DEI system, or another name brand that is familiar with most installers and has good technical support, not to mention a lifetime warranty.  Good luck!! 

Chris Luongo 
Platinum - Posts: 3,746
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: August 21, 2005 at 12:49 AM / IP Logged  
What exactly do you mean by not arming/disarming correctly? Do you mean the aftermarket alarm... or it wasn't able to arm/disarm the factory alarm?
On the first-generation Escalades, the factory alarm can only be armed by the factory remote. The factory alarm can only be disarmed by the factory remote, or by starting the car.