Kicker KS65.2 flapping bass

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hsali 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: August 27, 2005 at 8:36 AM / IP Logged  
hi all. ....
im a beginner installer i have moderate experience installing car stereos (nothing fancy, just speakers, head units subs and amps) and finished my own car last night ...
i installed the following parts:
Alpine CDA 9807 HU (50 W x4 max)
Pioneer GM-X944 Amp (75 RMSx2, 250 RMS x1 (3+4 bridged))
Alpine Coax 2 way SPS170A Front Speakers (40 RMS 200 Max)
Kicker KS65.2 Rear Shelf component speakers (75 RMS 150 Max)
JBL GTO1200 Enclosed Sub (250 RMS 1000 Max)
Head unit amp powers the front speakers, rear and Sub RCA connected to the Amp, channels 1 and 2 connected to the Kickers, and channels 3 and 4 bridged running the JBL Sub
However,
All sounds nice, of course the Kickers are MUCH clearer than the Alpine speakers, but when i raise the volume the Kicker speakers start flapping with the bass and I have to raise the HPF level on the amp to fix it. is this normal or is there something wrong with the speakers? or is the amp giving too much power?
Also I have a Pioneer 2 channel 40 RMS x2 Amp, is it worth it to connect it to my front speakers? or should i leave it as it is?
Also, i understand that to tune a system correctly i should turn everything down then start turning up as much as possible starting from the head unit, and then raising the gain on the amps as needed, but i find that i must turn the gain waaay down so i can turn up the HU up to 35 (the max volume) - is this right or should I leave the amp at normal gain and be careful not to turn up the HU past 24 or so ...
Also regarding the Sub, the head unit gives only low frequencies to the sub channel, I currently have the LPF off. Should I turn it on to further filter the bass or leave the HU to send the right frequencies?