icon

question from first timer

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
chris102984 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Posted: September 07, 2005 at 8:48 PM / IP Logged  

okay, im brand new to the whole fiberglass concept.

so i came up with an idea that i could put my subs into my spare tire well to create a stealth install and have a full usable trunk. im fairly apt in the whole handyman department so i think i can fiberglass fine.

my big question is from what i read its best to use pieces of mdf in flat areas... how do you bond the fiberglass to the mdf?

my second queston is would it be advisable to use the wood with the speaker rings from my old sub boxes? and would it also be advisable to cut out the wood around the terminal cups and try to recycle them still attached to the wood?

abovestock 
Copper - Posts: 247
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2005 at 12:18 AM / IP Logged  
The resin or "glue" that is used in fiberglass holds just fine to MDF without any problems. As for the speaker rings and terminal try to get something new. In my experiance this is the only sure, clean, easy way to get the job done right. If you are needing any rings cut let me know and I can do them for you for the cost of materials if that is the rout you would like to take.
mi_what 
Copper - Posts: 208
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 09, 2005 at 3:18 PM / IP Logged