icon

crackle sound?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
branvw 
Copper - Posts: 90
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 8:35 AM / IP Logged  
hey guys i am new to this side of the12volt but not to the fiberglass side.  My problem is that the other night one of the installs i did has started to make a crackle noise when you turn it up.... not to full or anything, i have looked at all the connections and they look good,,,,, please help, what do i do?
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 9:47 AM / IP Logged  
Is it a "crackling" sound only while the volume control is being turned or is it constant noise?
Support the12volt.com
branvw 
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 9:49 AM / IP Logged  

it will stay on, but on low volume you will not hear it, when it is turned up it kinda reminds me of the sound you get when a speaker is blown

DYohn 
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 10:32 AM / IP Logged  
OK.  It could be a blown speaker.  crackle sound? -- posted image.  Or it could be a clipping amplifier or preamp, or a bad crossover.  I'd start by ensuring no clipping in the system and if that's all good, swap out the speaker and/or crossover.
Support the12volt.com
branvw 
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 12:15 PM / IP Logged  

DYohn wrote: