the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

amp powers up, but no sound


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
wellby 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 13, 2005 at 5:49 PM / IP Logged  
Hi I'm new to this site and I have some problems. I just installed 2 kicker L5 subs and a hifonics brutus amp. I have what I belive to be good power and ground connections,tested with multimeter. I have the subs(dvc 4ohm)wired for a 2ohm load. The problem I am having is that the amp powers up and shows no protection light but I have no sound. I have tryed switching rca cables and such but no luck. How can I check to see if my headunit is working. The radio works powering the inside speekers through the line level outputs and I have the amp hooked up to the rear preamp outputs. I am totaly confused
sk8ingsmurf 
Copper - Posts: 198
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 18, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 13, 2005 at 5:58 PM / IP Logged  
What kind of deck is it?  On some units the pre-amps come switched off and you have to turn them on before using them.
wellby 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 13, 2005 at 6:33 PM / IP Logged  
sorry forgot the head unit is a older clarion db315
fingaz22 
Silver - Posts: 410
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 13, 2005 at 9:30 PM / IP Logged  
there is no on and off state for that model but i do believe on the sub output of the deck there is a non-faded volume. but even if turn all the way down should not completly cut sound off to the amp. and you say it's on the rear outputs? wicth is different from sub output. try another channel like the front rca's.  i've seen burnt preout without having trouble with the amp inside the hu. is it new? is it used? do you have another hu to try it in your setup to see if it is the hu. and not an wiring issue after the amp. are you sure the amp is good?start at the hu making sure you have one that works and down the line you go. lol
JUST ONE MORE AMP!!!
hu,alpine cva 1005/dva 5205
sound processor,symmetry(first one).
sub amp,power 1000 the terminator.(1992).
subs,spl comp dual 1 ohms.
punch 150hd on a 10" ev.
alotofhighs
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,625
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: November 14, 2005 at 1:07 PM / IP Logged  
I'd you said you tested power and ground, and the amp is coming on.  Try to ohm out the speakers, and make sure they're good.  If they test good, make sure you are getting signal through the RCA's.  Do you have a 4-channel you can try them on?  If not, you can have the amp bench tested- it may be bad.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
wellby 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 14, 2005 at 8:06 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks to all who gave advice. After more work today I found out the amp is no good, bought brand new in box.I'm a newbe in car audio but have 10 years experence in the hvac field so If anyone needs answers on the heating or cooling systems I would be more than happy to help.    Thanx Mark..
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,625
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: November 14, 2005 at 8:32 PM / IP Logged  

Can you teach ditsy girls how to operate a thermostat?  At one of my jobs, I get complaints that it's too hot when the thermostat is set on 80, or too cold when it's on 65- no joke.  No matter how many times you show them, it seems they just "forget."

My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
wellby 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 14, 2005 at 9:58 PM / IP Logged  
Yea it's called a locking thermostat cover, people seem to think turning the thermostat up will make it warm quicker. Put the cover on keep the key for yourself and tell them it was done to save gas, most offices have covers on the stats.
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,625
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: November 15, 2005 at 3:44 AM / IP Logged  
Actually, we have them, but it doesn't help because they have a key since that's the area where they work.  They have to have one- it's a health care center.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
wellby 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: November 15, 2005 at 7:30 PM / IP Logged  
I guess your out of luck, it's funny some of the smartest people will never figure out how to operate a stat. Most of my service calls are for that very reason.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer