icon

base coating

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
05honda 
Copper - Posts: 100
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 11, 2005 at 9:37 AM / IP Logged  

I am about to finish up my box and I was wondering.....

When I go to paint(rattle can) if I put a Crome base coat on it will the crome add to the shine of my metallic grey color coat.....

If not what type of basecoat should I apply

chrisne77 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2005 at 8:54 AM / IP Logged  
I've never used the chrome paint before. Most of the time your "color" coat completly covers anything under it. If you were spraying a candy color this would be a different story.
youngone 
Silver - Posts: 269
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2005 at 3:54 PM / IP Logged  
The chrome paint isn't a good idea because if the paints don't match then your paint will start wrinkling up and stuff. this happen on my recent box. and when you put the clear on you should only put one good cote on, if you do then a reaction happens in the paint and it wrinkles up.
About the basecoat you should put on some primer and you should be fine. good luckbase coating -- posted image.
Aaron
Want to know some good equipment- JL,Adire Audio,Mcintosh,Brax,Helix,Eclipse,JBL,RE,Dimoand Audio,Zapco, pritty much anything DYhon,Forbidden recommend
On the12volt you give some info and you get in
ragoal12 
Copper - Posts: 135
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2005 at 5:12 PM / IP Logged  
personally i wouldn't do it.. since its rattle can.. its not going to lay down like ur standard base clear 2 stage paint.. since the rattle can is a different type of paint.. ex. like an arcylic.. im not sure the kind ur using... you could try a test piece to see what it does.. that is my best suggestion
S.O.B custsoms.. South Omaha, Nebraska
jlord16 
Silver - Posts: 322
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2005 at 8:27 PM / IP Logged