the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2005 Chevy Express Ignition Wire


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hoops7k 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: December 23, 2005
Posted: December 23, 2005 at 3:23 AM / IP Logged  
I am having difficulty installing a after market receiver in a 2005 express. I can not determine where the ignition wire is. The deck has power but will not turn. Any help as to where the best place to tap for the ignition wire would be greatly appreciated. I am using an after market harness and everything is correctly installed except for the ignition wire.
boomer_106 
Silver - Posts: 710
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: December 23, 2005 at 1:57 PM / IP Logged  
If it has a yellow wire test that one. Alternatively you may be able to find a spot in the fuse box with accessory power
johname 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: December 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: December 23, 2005 at 10:59 PM / IP Logged  
It gets its acc from class 2 databus wire. you need to install an interface in order to keep door chime and healthy signal to computer. peripheral sells a great interface. it will give you an acc out that will do rap just like factory.part # is GMCO. if you dont use this or similar device you will end up with error codes.
John AdvancedMobileElectronic.com
NowYaKnow 
Gold - Posts: 1,216
Gold spacespace
Joined: December 18, 2002
Posted: December 24, 2005 at 9:54 AM / IP Logged  
Just run a wire to the drivers underdash area, put a small fuse inline, and tap into the thick brown acc wire at the junction block. Just get on your back of the drivers floor and look up you'll see the black connector with all the wires you want the thickest brown one. No panels need to be removed for access or anything.
Mike
hoops7k 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: December 23, 2005
Posted: December 28, 2005 at 6:42 PM / IP Logged  
What type of fuse should I use...Thanks
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,617
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: December 28, 2005 at 8:12 PM / IP Logged  
You can just use a regular blade type fuse- a 5 or 10 amp would be fine.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer