icon

01 Olds Aurora Remote Start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bybygm2 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 29, 2005 at 7:32 PM / IP Logged  
I need wiring information for 2001 Oldsmobile Aurora for Design Tech remote start product. The problem I am having is that the car was built in May 2000 but is 2001 model year. The 2000 wiring diagram is not applicable and there is no 2001 diagram easily accessible through 12v website (that I can find).
I have probed the wires and the car does start, runs for about 30 seconds and quits.
Has anyone encountered anything similar and has found solution? Or does anyone have the applicable wiring diagram that you could share or direct me to?
Thanks!
Mike
03sd 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: December 29, 2005 at 8:25 PM / IP Logged  

First off, I'm not a professional installer (but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night!). Obviously, there is no 2000 Aurora. Olds took a time-out in 2000 to re-group, and 2001-2004 were essentaily the same car.

Where did you pick up the tach signal? Is it a 3.5L or 4.0L? On the 3.5L (I just did one in my wife's 2001 3.5L Aurora a couple of days ago), you can use the dark green wire at the coil pack on the rear cylinder head or you can use the RED / white wire at the coil pack on the front cylinder head.

The instructions for my Astroflex RS say to use the RED / white wire for at the coil pack (which one?) for the 4.0L.

How'd you like getting at the ignition switch?

Bob O.
boomer_106 
Silver - Posts: 710
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 29, 2005 at 8:42 PM / IP Logged  
Oldsmobile | | Aurora | | 2001 - 2002

Remote Starter Wiring Colors and Notes
FunctionVehicle ColorLocation
Start:PURPLE OR ORANGE
Ignition #1:PINKIGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
Ignition #2:WHITEIGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
Ignition #3:N/A****
Accessory:ORANGE & BROWN (2 WIRES)IGNITION SWITCH HARNESS
Brake Light:WHITEAT SWITCH ABOVE BRAKE PEDAL