icon

Is $700 enough to complete a system?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
shrug53 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Posted: January 10, 2006 at 10:53 AM / IP Logged  

OK, I already have my head unit (actually a carputer which I built with full mp3 jukebox and FM tuner).

Now I will be building a custom sub and amp box while I attend Mobile Dynamics.  This leaves me the task of buying adequate equipment on my remaining budget of $700.00

Hopefully you folks can help since I am still fairly new to this business, having spent the last 20 years in the computer industry.

Here is what I would like to have, 2 ten or twelve inch sub-woofer, mids, and tweeters.  One or two amps to power it all. Plus whatever else I may need (i.e. caps, EQ, preamp, etc.).

Any suggestion on a good set of equipment I can buy to complete my system on my given budget?  I appreciate all advice!

Shrug

1987 Ford F-150 extended cab

stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 10, 2006 at 11:02 AM / IP Logged  
I suggest you go visit one or two local independent dealers, explain what you said here, and start listening to some different systems.  You will want to form your own opinions of the sounds you hear from the different brands and types of speakers.  With your goal of getting into the industry, some networking in your community could be nothing but beneficial to you...not only for your short-term system goals but for your long-term career goals as well.
Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
speedwayaudio1 
Silver - Posts: 879
Silver spacespace
Posted: January 10, 2006 at 11:02 AM / IP Logged