the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Alpine CDA-9855 2005 xeon 2002-2003


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nikelite1 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: January 23, 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posted: January 23, 2006 at 1:21 PM / IP Logged  
Hi i am the owner of a Toyota IST (scion xa for the us) 2002-2003 make. I have recently bought an Alpine CDA-9855 head unit 2005 make.
Can anyone please explain me how to install it (wiring and stuff? I am a Rookie at head unit installationsAlpine CDA-9855 2005 xeon 2002-2003 -- posted image.) the car came with an aftermarket radio installed (a simple cd player no major brand).
Will I need to buy any extra fuses?
I went to the alpine dealership in my country and they told me that they needed to install a separate fuse for the radio.
If anyone could provide me with a detail guide I would be most thankful.
Thanks in Advance.
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,625
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: January 23, 2006 at 7:23 PM / IP Logged  

If the radio that's in there has these wire colors: https://www.the12volt.com/request/request2.asp, just connect the wires color to color.  Do them one at a time- don't just cut the old plug off at once or you'll pop a fuse or two.  Alpine says you need to run the main power wire (yellow) directly to the battery, but I never do.

I'm surprised how good your English is- much better than my broken Greek (or Spanish, Japanese, etc. for that matter).

My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
nikelite1 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: January 23, 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posted: January 24, 2006 at 10:32 AM / IP Logged  
Thanks for the help but I am a bit confused if there is a fuse for the radio that is already installed in the car where is it located?
I have dissembled my dashboard pooled the old radio out but I cant figure out what goes where does anyone have the default wiring of the car and what kind of fuse do I need to install and where for the new head unit?
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,625
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: January 24, 2006 at 10:57 AM / IP Logged  

There will be one or more fuses for the radio located in the fuse panels either inside the passeger compartment or under the hood.  Your owner's manual will say.  The new radio will have a fuse on the harness itself, in addition to the fuse(s) already in the car.  So am I correct in guessing the wires do not match?  The radio that was installed was probably from the factory, then.

You need to go to your local stereo shop and buy a harness for your car (I remember seeing them when I was in Greece several years ago, so I know they're there)- it's just the regular Toyota harness.  Then you will connect the wires on your new radio to the harness you bought color to color, and plug it in.

My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
nikelite1 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: January 23, 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posted: January 24, 2006 at 4:06 PM / IP Logged  
thanks very very much for the help provided but i have allready cut the wires Alpine CDA-9855 2005 xeon 2002-2003 -- posted image. .
as it looks like it is not the manufacture radio installed in my car as have done a little searching it seems like the manufacture stock radio is a double din.
in my car there is a single din radio.
what kind of fuse should i buy (what kind of fuse should i ask from the dealer what are the fuses specs) as i didnt find any kind of fuse that intersects the power from the battery to the radio.
can anyone please explain me what does each of the phollowing wire does?
toyota default wiring
| RADIO 12V|blue / YELLOW |+ |radio harness (what is this?)
| RADIO GROUND|WHITE/ black |- |radio harness |(what is this?)
| RADIO SWITCH|gray |+ |radio harness |(what is this?)
| RADIO ILLUMINATE|green |+ |radio harness |
| POWER ANTENNA|BLACK/ red |+ |radio harness |
| LF SPEAKER|pink - purple |+,-|radio harness |
| RF SPEAKER|lt. green - blue |+,-|radio harness |
| LR SPEAKER|black - yellow |+,-|radio harness |
| RR SPEAKER|red - white |+,-|radio harness |
where do i intersect the radio fuse in the (| RADIO 12V|blue / YELLOW |+ |) or (RADIO SWITCH|gray |+ |)
nikelite1 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: January 23, 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 12:32 AM / IP Logged  
I am answering my question the radio 12v is the constant current coming from the battery while the ignition is the variant current 12v coming when the engine starts or stops.
my question now is what kind of fuse should i use and where?
Any help will be appreciated.
bazzgazm 
Copper - Posts: 113
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 06, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 12:47 AM / IP Logged  
Just incase you didn't know, the alpine 9855 model comes with a "high powereD" 60w amp i believe. this amp needs a wire with a little more current allowing to pass. that is why they recommend running a wire to your battery. All you really need is the good ignition wire under the ignition colomn. they are good for about 30amps (the deck MIGHT draw 10, tops) and will only have a strong draw durring starting (Ever seen your deck playing while your car is starting???? didn't think so)
nikelite1 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: January 23, 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 1:54 AM / IP Logged  
so bazzgazm you suggest to install the radio directly without intercepting any kind of fuse?
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,625
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 5:32 PM / IP Logged  

It sounds like you could use the help of a professional.  I suggest going to your local stereo shop to see if they can make sense of the wires you have.  Judging by the questions you're asking, I believe you're over your head.

My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
bazzgazm 
Copper - Posts: 113
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 06, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 7:00 PM / IP Logged  
  After that no fuse reply =) I'm going with the last guys comment. take it to a professional. It'll save you alot of money in the long run.
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer