Remote starter add on

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
witxp 
Copper - Posts: 51
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 24, 2006 at 9:54 PM / IP Logged  

Hi

My 2003 GC has K-9 Classic installed from dealer and I plan to add the Astra 1000RS.  As I'm very new to this I'm not sure where to wire the two 16 gauge 12V wires to from the relay pack.

My second question is the K-9 has parking light output and door lock/unlock already installed.  From the K-9's wiring diagram, it supplies parking output (I'm not sure if there is an extra relay installed) and the Astra also does the same, so how would I tie them both to work together.  I don't want the parking lights to draw power from both devices. I think it could be a bad thing.  As far as door locks go, should I use diodes to isolate the two circuits or just tap right in?

Thanks

iskidoo 
Silver - Posts: 1,040
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 1:22 AM / IP Logged  
I would use the new system for everything and unplug the K-9. You will have some of the wires there already such as locks and lights which will save time. By 2003 GC, I'm assuming GMC. If it's a pick-up then you will have 2 red wires in the Ignition harness. Connect the 16 guage wires to them, one on each.
Steve G
witxp 
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 25, 2006 at 9:10 AM / IP Logged  
Hi, sorry about the confusion, it's actually a 2003 Grand Caravan. Was half asleep typing it up. If I take out the K-9 I would loose the alarm. So I'm trying to work both systems in together.
Would I also just connect the two heavy gauge wires to two red wires from the ignition harness? And would those wires need constant 12v all the time?
And what should I do about the tying the parking together? Should I use a separate relay and diode isolate both connections to the relay?
Should I use diodes too on the doorlocks or can I just tap onto the existing ones?
Thanks