icon

Alpine CDA-9851

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cruzan69 
Member - Posts: 22
Member spacespace
Posted: January 26, 2006 at 10:11 PM / IP Logged  

Hi guys. Need some advice. I am upgrading the head unit in my truck (2001 S10). Current system consists of Clarion DRX8675z accompanied by matching cd changer--Punch 800a2 & Punch 400a4-- JL 4" and JL 6.5" -- 3 JL 12W3V2 . The current HU has 3 5 volt preamp outputs, negative on any built in crossover. I'm searching for a better sounding HU and have heard good things about  Alpine on this site. I've never tried Alpine before. Are they better than Clarion or shoud I go for Eclipse (CD5435)? I like the Alpine CDA-9851. I don't care for the Alpine CDA-9853 or CDA-9855, Bass Engine Pro intimidates me.  Would I notice any notable difference in dropping down to 2 volt outputs from the Alpine HU? Your input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

One other thing. I need to have a small cd changer to fit in my glove box. I currently have a 6 disc changer in there. Reason being, the bass causes my current Clarion to skip. I installed the changer to avoid this. Do you think the Alpine would also have this problem causing me to buy a changer? Thanks again. -David

sk8ingsmurf 
Copper - Posts: 198
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 26, 2006 at 10:38 PM / IP Logged