icon

Securing a 1966 Convertible

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
pendulum 
Copper - Posts: 56
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 03, 2006 at 3:22 PM / IP Logged  
I've got a 1966 Chevy Impala Convertible that I'm restoring, and once I get a new top for it (current one is trashed), what would be the best alarm to get? Is there anything special I can do about security in terms of it being a convertible? I'm good with wiring/electrical fabrication. I'd like a system that will tell me when someone touches the car (I guess it's called a 2 way system?). I'm completely new to alarms. All I know is that half the time they get ignored by people around :< so I'd like to be able to have the system tell why it's been activated.
Thanks for any help.
catalin capota 
Copper - Posts: 74
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 03, 2006 at 6:30 PM / IP Logged  
Go with a Compustar alarm and an external proximity sensor. These types of sensors will usually have two zones. One exterior zone that will detect movement around the vehicle and one interior zone. The exterior will signal a warning which will show on your remote and the interior will sound the siren for 30 seconds or 60 seconds. This one will also show on the remote.
If the vehicle ISN'T fuel injected then do not purchase the remote starting Compustar model. As I'm sure you'll know it won't always start if it's cold and you won't be able to remotely pump the gas pedal.
pendulum 
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 04, 2006 at 1:47 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks. I'm eventually gonna go fuel injected, if I can afford it. 8-10 MPG just isn't too pleasing.
pendulum 
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 04, 2006 at 1:54 PM / IP Logged  
Since I can't figure out how to edit, I'll just double-post... I've been researching alarms and I've seen a "field-disturbance" sensor mentioned. What exactly is this, and how well does it perform?
catalin capota 
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 04, 2006 at 2:00 PM / IP Logged