icon

2-channel amp, boss hc 4000 powerdrive

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
zaxbys 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: March 02, 2006 at 2:19 AM / IP Logged  

i have a  2channel 2000w amp and 2 audiobahn 1208t subs.i was wondering since right now i dnt have the cah to buy upgrades such as alternaters and batteries could i just hook up one sub and run it off one channel of the amp?tthe amp is 2000w and 4000 bridged...and the spaeakers are 1500 rms..im kinda new to this whole audio thing so plzzzzz guys give me serious answers..be gentle.lol

new to car audio
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: March 02, 2006 at 11:49 AM / IP Logged  

For starters.....this amp will NEVER produce 4000watts, for that matter...2000 is a long shot.

https://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp Look here to get your subs wired correctly. You want to end up with a 4 ohm load.

Wire each DVC to an 8 ohm load, (in series) then wire the 2 together parallel. you will have a 4 ohm load. Bridge the amp.....

forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 02, 2006 at 3:07 PM / IP Logged  
I agree about the power claim. Always post as much info about the equipment and vehicle that you have. To me I don't know if you have a monster Crossfire amp that is capable of this kind of power or some flea market crapola that is not capable of it. More info every time you post please.
Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
zaxbys 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 03, 2006 at 12:49 AM / IP Logged