How to search for battery drain

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mrbean01 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Posted: March 04, 2006 at 8:18 PM / IP Logged  

Hi,

Please excuse the noob question, but my battery is mysteriously draining.  If I don't drive my car (89 240sx) for a few days, then the battery dies.  I don't believe my alternator has gone bad, because if the engine runs, then the battery gets charged.

The only other thing I could think of would be bad wiring in my DIY alarm install job.  However, I installed my alarm more than a year ago, but this problem only came up recently.  Since the install, I've also gotten a smog check, as well as  a clutch replacement, but nothing really seems to clearly be the source of this problem.

I'm wondering what's the best way to go about looking for a drain on the battery.  I'm a complete amateur when it comes to using a multimeter, so please be as thorouogh as possible.  Any tips on where to start, what to look for would be much appreciated.  Thanks!

BTW, this has happened with a brand new battery.  And my alarm is the rsx 3.5

genehewett 
Copper - Posts: 151
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 04, 2006 at 9:55 PM / IP Logged  
cvl 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: March 06, 2006 at 9:29 PM / IP Logged  
You can disconnect the neg batt cable, and place a test light in between the cable end, and batt terminal, watch licht as you pull every fuse. when the light goes off, or dratically dim when you pull the fuse, it means the draw is on that circuit. this saves me a lot of time, neat trick i think.
loneagle 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: March 08, 2006 at 5:50 PM / IP Logged  

You mentioned that the Alternator charges the battery ok; but the alternator

can discharge the battery if an internal diode is shorted, allowing current

backflow when it is not operating.  Disconnect the alternator wire and

put a tailight bulb in series with it to the terminal: if it lights there is a