icon

How do I install a 2nd siren?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Reepicheep 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: May 13, 2002 at 9:08 AM / IP Logged  

I just installed a COMMANDO alarm in my car.  I mounted the siren under the dash as to give any thief a massive headache if he tried to mess with it.  But now I can barely hear the siren from outside the car :(

Does anyone know of a way I can hook up a second siren under the hood?  If I hook it up in series, then cutting any wire from the siren under the hood will kill both sirens.  But if I hook it up in parralel, I'm afraid the amp draw might be more than the alarm system can handle.

I have no experience with these things.  Any advice would be much appriciated.

Big Dog 
Gold - Posts: 1,265
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 13, 2002 at 9:18 AM / IP Logged  

Hey Reepicheep,

The sirens should always be wired in parallel.  If unsure about amp draw use a relay to drive the sirens giving you up to 40 amps.  How do I install a 2nd siren? -- posted image.

Prepare your future. It wasn't the lack of stones that killed the stone age.
Reepicheep 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 13, 2002 at 10:24 AM / IP Logged  

Thanks Big Dog.  I'll try hooking them up parrallel and if a fuse blows, I'll buy a relay.  Cross your fingers for me.

I did speak with Tech support from Commando Alarm earlier.  He mentioned something about placing a 1 amp diode facing the first siren.  I'm assuming he ment that I should hook them up in series, otherwise it just doesn't make sense.  He was a bit grumpy so I decided not to ask for more details.

Reep

Reepicheep 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 13, 2002 at 10:24 AM / IP Logged  

Thanks Big Dog.  I'll try hooking them up parrallel and if a fuse blows, I'll buy a relay.  Cross your fingers for me.