icon

Power Draw on my amp

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mukrainetz 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: March 20, 2006 at 2:40 PM / IP Logged  

Being new to car audio I have a lot of questions which may seem pretty straightforward but hope I get a few answers anyway.

I purchased two 12" Volfenhag subs (4 Ohm) which are said to be 1000w max - 500w rms

I also purchased one Volfenhag 2000w amp which I will use bridged for both subs (said to provide 600w rms bridged)

I have a subscription to and been purchasing Performance Auto & Sound magazine for years and read through them religously. One article I found yesterday basically said an amp will draw about 100amps per 1000w (I hope I quoted that right) and continues with information about stock vehicle electrical systems being barely able to cope with larger audio installs if not at all.

My question I guess is will my stock battery and alt. be able to power my system or will I be left with a dead battery or burnt out alternator / fuses? I dont know exactly what the efficiency is of the amp or the draw when the subs are connected bridged at 4 ohms.

The head unit I bought is the new Sony CDX-F605X which I believe is 52wx4 if I need to consider that as well.

None of this setup is installed as yet because I cant find a dealer that sells a harness to install my new H/U into my car (2006 Yaris) but the car is wired and ready for it all to go in.

Thanks for any help

haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 20, 2006 at 3:36 PM / IP Logged  
mukrainetz wrote:
Being new to car audio I have a lot of questions which may seem pretty straightforward but hope I get a few answers anyway.
Not a problem. That's what we are here for!
mukrainetz wrote: