icon

Alpine MRD F545 crossover or active?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
willjohnson33 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: March 23, 2006 at 1:33 PM / IP Logged  
I am installing my first system ever and it I wanted to know if the crossover in the MRD F545 is good enough or if I should spend the cash to get an active crossover or processor instead.
My system is going in my 2005 Tundra Double Cab and is the following
Alpine CDA-9855 running to the
Alpine MRD F545 amp which will be bi-amped
to my Alpine Type-X components
I will also be running a SWX-1042D sub using the MRD-M1005 amp
I'm a total newbie just trying to learn as I go along. It seems as though I can use the amp as my crossover but I only want to do this once so if it is worth getting an active crossover or processor then i will do it.
Thanks
boardinbum 
Silver - Posts: 358
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 23, 2006 at 2:14 PM / IP Logged  
Didn't your Type X components come with a crossover?
willjohnson33 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 23, 2006 at 7:12 PM / IP Logged  
sorry. yes they come with a crossover as well. So i am essentially trying to figure out how it works when you basically have 2 crossovers. I thought passive was bad and the crossover with the type-X speakers would be passive right? I am just trying to better understand what the optimal setup is.
Thanks
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 23, 2006 at 7:19 PM / IP Logged