icon

wiring a few things together, best way?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
siresmerph 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2006 at 8:39 PM / IP Logged  
well my name is Isaac and i have a 2001 ford taurus, with the vulcan engine, not that that matters. anyway ive been into the wiring thing for a long time now and im still learning. my wife and i were going to trade in the car sometime ago so i ripped everything out of the car. since we decided to stay with the car...well i gotta install and rewire everything again. at the moment i have a set of OPTIX strobes in the tail lights, OPTIX  underglow neon kit (white, cars white) and OPTIX  white neon pedals. im going to be adding alot more stuff like leds and more lights later on but for now...when i had everything hooked up i had a power wire (bout 16awg) going to one switch, from that one switch, the positive wire would run to the next switch, and from that switch power would run to the next switch, for the ground i tied all ground wires to a nearby ground ( scrape the paint and add a ring connector and screw down). am i doing that right? if i add more stuff would i continue to wire up the same way? at RADIOSHACK we sell some radio control cars known as XMODS. well i took one from my lil collection and gutted it out, drilled some holes on the top and used that as my switch box. purddy kewl huh?! ha ha i tapped into a fuse from the fuse box under the dash for power. i know i half assed it and should of run it directly from the batt. same for the ground. if i add more stuff later would/should i use some type of relay? would i run it the same way?  i've been reading post going back to june of last year so I know that there alot of SMARTIES on here so any and alot of info/help is very very appreciated!!!
xscash 
Copper - Posts: 317
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 26, 2006 at 9:32 PM / IP Logged