icon

Confused with relay harness

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
scourking 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: April 06, 2006 at 5:12 PM / IP Logged  
I order some relays and I recieved them with harness for them. I thought I understood what I needed to do until I looked at how the harness are wired. Terminal 87 is empty but I can add for it. 87a has a large wire no problem there. 86 has a small wire and a diode that runs to terminal 85 (why I dont know). 30 has a large wire (not a problem). Here's The kicker for me 85 has a small wire thats an inch long and runs a loop and into 30. I am a newbie at this. If they all had straight out wires I think I know what to do. What is this configured to do I didnt see a diagram like this is wired.
scourking 
Member spacespace
Posted: April 06, 2006 at 5:34 PM / IP Logged  
The more I look the more confused I am. If I have 5 wires running out of a relay one for each terminal. Here is what I want. I want to hit my switch (hot all time constant when on) i want the relay to take one wire and break its connection. Like cutting the wire in half in half. I think I would run my switch to terminal 85 and the wire to get cut in half to teminal 30 and 87a. That means that when my switch is off the wire #30 is allowed to pass + or - thru to pole 87a. If the switch is on then #30 would then connect to #87 which runs to nothing thus makeing the wire like it was cut in half. But what does termianl 86 go too. I sse in the basic setup that 85 and 86 are the coil. does that mean that I need to ground 86 or does that mean I can run 86 on to another item and get power out of the switch kinda like a daisy chain for the switch.
Hoptup32 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 06, 2006 at 9:02 PM / IP Logged