icon

Shopping List Advice for My 1st Box?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mayoskillz 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: April 09, 2006 at 12:22 AM / IP Logged  
I just came across this forum and I'm really impressed. That being said I'd appreciate some advice. I'm a real newbie, so I need some helping in picking the exact items that I need, and also how much I need. I am going to glass two symmetrical enclosures where the armrests typical are in my 93 Civic. They will site infront of the spare tire well and the back of the box will pretty much be flush to the quarter panel. Here's a picture to illustrate what I'm talking about.
Shopping List Advice for My 1st Box? -- posted image.
Ok, so now for the list, this is what I understand I will need:
Fiberglass (Mat or Cloth, and How Much?)
Resin/Hardener (What Type and How Much?)
Body Filler and Hardener (Again, Type and How Much?)
Some Type of Carpet or Fleece to Stretch Over The Box (Recommendations?)
Vinyl To Cover The Box With (Best place for vinyl that molds to contours easily and will blend with the factory interior?)
Stirrers, Dixie Cups, Gloves (Do I need a mask so I dont breath in the glass?)
Fiberglass Shears (Necessary?)
A Sheet of MDF (1/2"?)
Anything Else I Forgot?
Are those How To Fiberglass DVD's worth the $$?
I don't want to break the bank with this, but I'll also dont want to buy crap materials and make my life more difficult than necessary.
Thanks in advance to anyone who took the time to read my newb post and bestow your wisdom upon me! Shopping List Advice for My 1st Box? -- posted image.   I've always wanted to tackle a fiberglass project, but now I'm at a point in a life where I have the resources and time to do something like this.
Aruman 
Silver - Posts: 363
Silver spacespace
Posted: April 09, 2006 at 12:37 PM / IP Logged  
check http://www.selectproducts.com/ they have good products and they DVD's are awesome.
Shaking The Neighborhood
jlord16 
Silver - Posts: 322