MP3 Head Units

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Off Roader 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: January 03, 2003 at 5:01 PM / IP Logged  

Hi All,

A bit of a newbie here, but have been around stereo's for quite some time and I am quite technical (I can tell you all about THD, Wow and Flutter, Ohm's law, etc.) although I'm not an installer so I hope you don't hold that against me. 

I own a 4x4 that I do take off road on pretty rough trails regularly and after going through a 2nd cd changer and head unit (1st was a Sony Deck and Changer, 2nd was a Clarion Pro Audio Deck and Changer), I've decided to try and find an MP3 head unit that is a fully solid state unit.  What I mean is, there are no moving parts... no CD, no Hard Drive, etc.

The reason I'm looking for this type of unit is simple, no moving parts = no parts to get out of alignment off road = hopefully higher reliability.

TIA,

Ray

demeanor 
Copper - Posts: 81
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 03, 2003 at 5:07 PM / IP Logged  

have you gone to RadioShack lately...the have a pretty cool gadget that has what you're looking for and it does it through a radio station...check it out.  it was in the xmas catalog...

Off Roader 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2003 at 11:17 AM / IP Logged  

I know radioshack is mostly OEM stuff.  I'd rather buy it directly from the OEM manufacturer / dealer rather than Radio Shack if I can.  Plus let's face it, everytime I've gone into Radio Shack, I am more knowledgable than the minimum wage salesmen there.  No offense intended here, just stating the facts as I see them about Radio Shack.

FWIW, I was running a Clarion Pro Audio Deck and their 12 disk changer.  For an amp, I run a Sony XM-5046 5 channel amp (only one that fit under my front seat of my SUV.)

For speakers I run Boston Acoustic Rally separates up front (5") and their coax (6.25") in the rear along with a JL 10" sub in a JL ProWedge enclosure CS110T-W1.