icon

Yamaha Rhino Sound System

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
earkandy 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2006 at 1:09 AM / IP Logged  

I have been installing a sound system in a 2006 Yamaha Rhino ATV. I am a professional certified tech, and this install has me totally baffled. With extremely limited space for a subwoofer, we made a sealed enclosure under the drivers seat that is .75 cu. ft. with a 10" driver that is 300 watts RMS, powered by a 300 watt amp bridged mono. If you stand outside the vehicle, the bass sounds great. It's tight, clean and sounds awesome. If you get in, and sit down inside the vehicle, the bass sounds muddy, and you can barely hear it. I own a car audio store, and have tried 5 different subwoofer lines, as well as several different enclosures, firing every direction possible. At first I though it could possibly be a power issue, because the battery is only about 300 amps. After adding a 1.7 farad capacitor, as well as another battery wired in series, and having a battery charger on the entire time, it still has the same problem. I have tried several different head units, amplifiers, etc... and still can't seem to get any bass response inside the vehicle. I have tried a high end free air marine subwoofer in a baffle, and this probably sounded the worse of all. I would appreciate any suggestions, or feedback.

geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: April 26, 2006 at 6:13 AM / IP Logged  
I hope you mean another battery in parallel and not series.  I'm going to assume that this is not going to be used extensively off road with the addition of a sound system, so why not add on an enclosure elsewhere?
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352