icon

Alternator & Battery?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
eklipz17 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 27, 2006 at 9:06 PM / IP Logged  

I'm new at this, so sorry if this question is stupid, but I just found out the other day that my alternator is dying. I had my battery & alternator checked the other day at Autozone because lately my headlights and interior lights would blink everytime I tap or press my brakes. I was thinking it was a short, but I had my alt & batt. checked just to see. The guy told me the alt. is putting out 4 amps less than what it should.

Now here's my question. I'm purchasing a better alternator, that puts out twice the amps than a regular one (the guy at autozone told me it'd be good enough with the stuff I got hooked up in the car). If I get the bigger alternator, would that effect my battery, or would it be fine? The guy who did my test said nothing about the battery, so I assumed it was good. If anyone could help me out before I purchase it, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks in advanced.

DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: April 27, 2006 at 9:27 PM / IP Logged  
A larger alternator will not do anything to your battery except charge it faster.  If the battery was bad, I am sure the retailer would have taken the opportunity to sell you a new one.  :)  Be sure your car's electrical cabling can handle the increased current capacity of the HO alternator.  You may want to upgrade your big 3.
Support the12volt.com
Mad Scientists 
Silver - Posts: 380
Silver spacespace
Posted: April 28, 2006 at 3:17 PM / IP Logged  

'putting out 4 amps less than it should be'...