icon

finding 12 volts

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tfc1922 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: April 30, 2006 at 11:36 AM / IP Logged  
I am a part-time installer for a type of vehicle security.
Sometimes it takes forever to find constant 12 volts - especially newer vehicles.
I tried placing a tone injection across 12 main i.e. across the battery and thought I should be able to pick it up throughout the vehicle. Not really. Probably too much fat wiring etc drags down the signal too much for the inductive pickup.
Just a thought - is there something else one could use here?
Another type of tone injection tool or something like that if u know what I mean?
Thanks
MrSuperStar 
Member - Posts: 33
Member spacespace
Posted: April 30, 2006 at 11:54 AM / IP Logged  
""""Digital"""" Multimeter, Period
bmwpwner 
Copper - Posts: 174
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 01, 2006 at 11:42 PM / IP Logged  

digital multimeter is the best way to go especially with all the newer vehicles but sometimes i still use a high dollar SST test light on older vehicles. good luck and hope this helps.

"I cannot teach anybody anything, I can only make them think."
-Socrates-
Powermyster 
Silver - Posts: 962
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 02, 2006 at 2:29 AM / IP Logged  
You can always get one at ign harness or fusebox.
Why oh Why didn't i take the blue pill
Darren Power
tfc1922 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 02, 2006 at 8:09 AM / IP Logged  
Guys - yes of course a multimeter is needed. Use it all the time.