icon

Seperate Subwoofer Control

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
izzy80 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: May 08, 2006 at 10:33 PM / IP Logged  
Hi all... Im new to wiring car stereos and whatnot, so this may sound like a rediculous noob question, but any help would greatly help. I had a nice pioneer radio installed in my car that had seperate subwoofer controls, so I could lower and raise the bass on the subs without lowering or raising the bass from the inside speakers of my car. That radio was stolen and my new radio doesn't have that type of option. So now when I put the bass up on the radio, the inside speakrs sound like they're going to bust and I can barely get any bass from the subs.   Is there anyway around this, where I can regain seperate control of the subs and not blow out my inside speakers? Thanks for any help....
saturnsubohio 
Copper - Posts: 114
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 08, 2006 at 10:39 PM / IP Logged  
can you be more specific please as to which radios you had/have?
the odds are i would think that the Pioneer had a higher PreOut Voltage therefore the gain on your amp is set incorrectly now because of a lesser quality headunit.
Sorry to hear about the theft and welcome to the12volt.
EDIT: please do not go outside and turn up the gain without reading here first or asking. you can/will cause damage to the subwoofers if you do this
2006 WRX STI
Electrical Engineer
Ohio University Alumni
izzy80 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: May 08, 2006 at 10:55 PM / IP Logged  
THANKS FOR THE WELCOME!
WEll, i dont remember the exact model of the old pioneer radio, but the new one is a Innovatek DVD-990. Its one of the new radios with a 3.5' lcd display . Here are the specs :-CAR In-dash DVD with 3.5" Wide TFT Colour LCD Screen
-DVD/DVD-R/MP3/MP4/VCD/CD/CD-R/CD-RW Compatible
-MMC/SD/USB Card Reader
-TV Tuner Receiver
-Electronic Anti-Shock