Fiberglass Details

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nick0324 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: June 06, 2006 at 11:48 AM / IP Logged  

hey guys,

i'm new to this forum here and i'm just starting to learn how to fiber glass. just started to do my first project and i just need some information.

i'm not making a mold or anything of the sort. what i did was build a table sort of thing in the back of my car behind my seats(i drive a cutlass supreme convertable) and what i am doing is just fiber glassing over top of it and giving it shape for my amp and my power cap.  i think it's going to turn out all right.  the reason i'm doing it this way is because i don't have the room to make a mould and then slide it in there.  it's impossible.

anyways my question is for the sanding portion of it is what kind of paper is recommended for the sanding of the fiber glass?  what i used is a filler with fiber glass peices in it already.  i didn't use any sheets of fiber glass (i'm saving that for the trunk when i do my speakers)  however, being my first time using fiber glass i realized it's alot harder then i thought it was going to be and i know the 80 grit paper i have isn't going to be good enough.

what do you recommend to use for this?

i will be posting pictures shortly once it's closer to being completed

djfearny2 
Silver - Posts: 810
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 06, 2006 at 1:35 PM / IP Logged