icon

1992 Mazda MPV, Giordon Top686C

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jseldon 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: July 12, 2006 at 10:55 PM / IP Logged  

Hi everyone, looking for a helping hand with one of these icky alarms.  Please bear with me as I'm fairly new to alarm installs and have only done some basic ones before.   I bought a Giordon Top686C alarm on ebay like many others and have seen from past posts that even experienced installers hate these things.  Of course the manual is all translated to english but as we all know the translation never quite comes across the same.   I've attached a wiring diagram below for reference and I just wanted to go over a few things before I start wiring.  My wife has a 1992 Mazda MPV Minivan thats been broken in to one too many times for my liking so I figured I'd try and get a cheap alarm in for her.   I found the wiring info in the database and I think I've got most of it figured out.  I'm not bothering with the engine disengaging system, so I assume I can just tape off the yellow and RED / black and ignore them.  I've bolded the things I'm confused about but if someone could verify I have the rest of it right as well that would also be great.  Thanks for the help. 

James

Constant 12V+ Black  Ignition Switch Harness   -->  Not needed

Starter BLACK / YELLOW  Ignition Switch Harness    --> Blue wire from starter module splices in here
Ignition BLACK/ White  Ignition Switch Harness   --> Brown wire from starter module  and white wire from main alarm harnass splices in here
Accessory Blue/Red  Ignition Switch Harness   --> Green wire from start module splices here  (Not sure what the whole Air Conditioning thing is about)

Not really sure about how to probe for the tach wire, what should I be looking for?  I found a white wire that I think is in this correct location but it appears to fluctuate voltage like an A/C voltage almost.