door panels

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ajnewman18 
Member - Posts: 23
Member spacespace
Posted: August 11, 2006 at 10:16 AM / IP Logged  

Hey everyone

New to the forum, been reading it for about a week and loved what I saw so I joined up!  I've been fiberglassing for a few years, all learning and experiencing on my own through magazines and the internet.  I'll see if I can dig up any pictures of past installs for anyone interested. 

I've been reading through the forums and even tried to search for my topic but haven't found anything that will help me out.  Here's the situation: I have a 2002 Honda Civic 2dr with Alpine SPX-177R's in the doors and the tweeters are in the A-Pillar (You'll find out soon I love Alpine stuff).  However, with the depth of the 6.5" woofer and the way the door panel sits, I'm not happy with the way it sounds.  Sometimes the door panels vibrate, sometimes the speaker rubs agains the door panel, etc.  Right now, I have two 3/4" MDF rings attached to the metal door, speaker screwed to that, door panel over it.  It sucks!  What I want is to fiberglass the door panel right around where the factory speaker grille is.  I don't want to do the whole panel though, just the area where the speaker will be sticking out from the panel.  Like I said earlier, I'm not new to glassing, but never done this before and wondered if anyone had any helpful tips!!  Thanks to all!

people who live in glass houses sink ships
ridin4jesus 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Posted: August 11, 2006 at 12:11 PM / IP Logged  
Hey whats up man, im new to the forum to and in a same situation. I have a 98 civic ex and i have some 6.5 audiobahns in the door and yeah there not all they can be. i did some research on here and on the net and found this stuff, send me some pics of the stuff you do to your civic. im lookin to do the whole panel, dash, subs, and some custom kit stuff in FG.door panels -- posted image.
door panels -- posted image.