icon

CompuStar 2WSS-A CM3300 Starter Relay

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigrondawg 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: August 23, 2006 at 9:07 AM / IP Logged  

I am installing CompuSTAR 2WSS-A(CM3300-V.3) in my 96 Honda Civic. 

This is my first alarm install, but i am fairly knowledgeable with wiring.  I have wired plenty of stereo systems, power windows, cruise controls, and engine harnesses.  I know how to use a multimeter.  As i said i am a noob with alarms so bare with me and please don't flame me for trying to learn.

I have a question reguarding the starter kill relay that came with my CompuSTAR system.  This system does not have the remote start function.  Do i need to wire this relay into my starter?  If so why and how do i do it?  CompuSTAR does not have very in depth directions.    The relay has 5 wires going in/out of it.  I have the wiring diagram and it says:

GREEN(in/out spot 86)- to (+) Ignition?

PURPLE(in spot 85)- (-) negative when armed out  What is this?
YELLOW(out spot 87a)- Where's this go?
YELLOW/BLACK(out spot 30)- Where's this go?
nothing goes in/out spot 87

I'm assuming this is the starter kill relay from reading on the internet and the breif install manual.  So basically all i am asking is how to wire this and an explanation as to why i need to IF i need to?  Maybe i don't ... please help a noob out.  Thanks in advance.

-Ron

thepencil 
Gold - Posts: 1,526
Gold spacespace
Posted: August 23, 2006 at 9:48 AM / IP Logged  
Ron,
Understanding the working of a relay will get you up and running.
-85 & +86 is the on/off switch to turn the relay on or off.
"GREEN(in/out spot 86)- to (+) Ignition?"
Connecting the Green wire to the Ignition wire of your car ( BLACK / YELLOW ).   This connection means you will have +12V power going into the relay when the key in the cylinder and turn to the II position. Still following me?   There is a I and II and start on your key cylinder. Take a look at it and check it out.