icon

still new to fiberglass

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
onelewdh22 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Posted: September 01, 2006 at 3:24 AM / IP Logged  

Ok i'm still new to this (only got one project under my belt which were a set of rear quarter panel speaker pods), and have a couple questions that i have no clue about how to do.

1. Where and/or how do you guys hide your screws on your fiberglass enclosures/custom FG pieces? do you counter sink the holes and try and put them as far out of site as possible?

2. After my 1st project, i found out how messy and hard to work w/ fiberglass mat and resin was to work with.  I've found a couple products that i think would become invaluable for all my future projects, let me know if they're worth it, or if there's an alternative/ trick to laying and measuring out FG and resin.  Im checkin out getting all 3 "Roller Tools" and the "Deluxe MEKP Dispenser" http://www.mobilesolutions-usa.com/smartparts/fiberglass.htm

3. When covering a finished FG project with Vinyl or Suede should i "pre-cover" the piece or box w/ a layer of material or padding before laying the final material over the top?  For my first project i had an old hot rod buff (great w/ mechanically and upolstrie[sp]) wrap them for me in this blue suede like material (pretty thin) and he told me he had put a thin layer of padding over it to help hide some of my horrible sanding blemishes and also to make it soft.  Like i said horrible sanding job so next project will be done right this time.  Does anyone else ever use padding before wraping?