the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Smoked Remote Wire


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cloak559 
Copper - Posts: 215
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 14, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 24, 2006 at 5:55 PM / IP Logged  
Last night my power control wire for my monoblock melted. From the connector near the headunit all the way to the amp it started smoking and melted within seconds. First my sub started clicking in and out and then my headunit starting turning on and off. At that point I looked back and realized smoke was pouring out from under my carpet...
This boggles my mind. There was nowhere that wire could have grounded itself. And even if it did, would that make it fry? And why would the headunit power flicker? Is there any other reason anyone knows of why this would happen? Im about to run a new remote wire and I just wanted to get some input before I hook it up. Hopefully I dont smoke another one. *crosses fingers* ...
'89 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Pioneer DEH-5900UB
(2)RE Audio SX 10"s
(1)US Amps MD3D
3ft^3 @ 37Hz
Blowing up in a car accident doesnt worry me, as long as I'm putting out some major dB's when I die...
ferretvw 
Copper - Posts: 188
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 29, 2005
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: September 24, 2006 at 6:04 PM / IP Logged  

A wire will burn or melt when it is attempting to pass more current than it is meant to carry resulting in heat which in turn burns the wire up. Generally on a remote wire the only way this will happen is if it is grounded somehow or touching bare metal etc. this would also be why the deck flickered because it was trying to pass too much current through the wire. However, it is also possible that there is a problem in the amp itself causing the wire to ground out but I would check out the former first.

sparkie 
Platinum - Posts: 2,061
Platinum spacespace
Joined: November 06, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: September 24, 2006 at 6:23 PM / IP Logged  
It may be a good idea to install an inline fuse of about 1 amp near the radio. It will prevent this from occuring.
sparky
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: September 24, 2006 at 6:59 PM / IP Logged  
When a wire smokes, there is a reason.  Most likely either your amp is defective or, like was said, the wire itself shorted to ground.  Plus, you may have just fried the power supply in your head unit.  Don't just hook it back up without figuring out what went wrong!
Support the12volt.com
sprawl85 
Copper - Posts: 204
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 15, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 24, 2006 at 7:25 PM / IP Logged  
Yeah, or the wire was way too small. I know this may not seem like an option, but back in the day (i was 13 and doin my first or second install) I used a 24-32 gauge wire (about the size of one of the wires in a telephone cord) for a remote turnon wire and the same thing happened to me. I have used 18 gauge or higher ever since. Of course the plastic on the outside of this wire was so thin it could have grounded out somewhere too. Really what everyone has said is the only two options though and I am willing to bet it grounded out somewhere and it isn't the amp.
fiberglass reminds me of peanut brittle... but fiberglass tastes better!
cloak559 
Copper - Posts: 215
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 14, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 24, 2006 at 10:05 PM / IP Logged  
Yeah, I think it was way to small of a cable, I didnt put it in there, a local shop did a long time ago. It looks like a stereo cable from the 50's...I put in a 16 gauge wire this time and its working fine. But for some reason now I get the notorious "Thump" at turn on...wierd thing is it happens everytime I switch tracks too. So I think my headunit took a beating during this little fiasco...time to shell out some cash for a new one...great...
'89 Mercedes-Benz 300E
Pioneer DEH-5900UB
(2)RE Audio SX 10"s
(1)US Amps MD3D
3ft^3 @ 37Hz
Blowing up in a car accident doesnt worry me, as long as I'm putting out some major dB's when I die...

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, April 21, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer