icon

Truck Bed Security

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sparkyz125 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2006 at 2:09 AM / IP Logged  

Hey guys, I'm an installer and was looking for ideas on keeping my truck bed secure. Sometimes I have to leave my motorcyle in the back of my truck overnight. Some of the things I've thought of, please give me any input you have on this subject. First a pin switch for the tailgate.

Second maybe try a shock sensor mounted in the tail light housing. We had a customer with one and it seemed to work when someone would undo the snap taneau cover. Maybe it would work if someone jumped in the bed.

Another idea I had was to use a closed loop sensor to go through the front wheel. I haven't seen the DEI unit but from the picture it looks like a regular wire. I would be looking for something that I could easily connect and disconnect but would set off the alarm when disconnected. It seems like if the DEI one is just wires you could just tag a wire into it and jump it to prevent it from going off. Any ideas.

One other thing I've thought of trying would be a field disturbance sensor. In most applications they seem to be more hassle than they are worth though. Since they won't go through metal the only interior location I could mount would be near the rear window to cover the bed correct? I don't know how that would look or function?

My final idea would be a pressure switch for the front wheel against the bed. I've never used the DEI version so I don't know how it would withstand the wheel pushing against it and the elements.

Thats all I can think of, let me know your thoughts or ideas. Thanks

bsd1 
Copper - Posts: 62
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2006 at 4:49 AM / IP Logged  
sparkyz125 wrote:
It seems like if the DEI one is just wires you could just tag a wire into it and jump it to prevent it from going off. Any ideas.