icon

autopage rs860, 2001 ford ranger

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bailee 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: October 18, 2006 at 10:41 PM / IP Logged  

I was given a autopage rs860 remote start  an i am going to install it my self.  I have a skytek rs5000 installed in my 2001 ford ranger already, dont like it very much remotes breake to easy already replaced remote 2 times and cost way to mush could have  put another alarm with i paid for the remotes. What i need to know is will i be able to use the same wires that the  rs5000 is wired to not the wiring harness on the alarm but the wires that it is connected to on the truck. I know that there will be a little more  wiring with the new alarm. I have had some experience with auto wiring, so im not worred about doing it my self. thanks

Twelvoltz 
Platinum - Posts: 2,384
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 19, 2006 at 6:47 AM / IP Logged  
The color codes from the Scytek to the Autopage are going to be different, but the wires that were interfaced in the vehicle will be the same. Get yourself a wiring chart for the vehicle and verify all circuits with a DMM prior to connecting but the job should be very easy considering most if not all wires have already been found.
Hope this helps
bailee 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2006 at 8:35 AM / IP Logged  
Thanks, twelvoltz
black cavy 
Copper - Posts: 78
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 19, 2006 at 11:15 AM / IP Logged  

yeah unless its the same company it won't plug in

i have the 860 and love it,just to let you know it eats batterys so if you were a work shirt keep one in there.

the 2 other things i dislike is the illution doesn't light up the remote automaticly when you push a button and the brain is so big.

bailee 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 02, 2006 at 6:34 PM / IP Logged