icon

97 Ram diesel cruise control issue

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
flyboy1 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 30, 2006 at 7:38 PM / IP Logged  
oem cruise control. pressing the "on" button on the steering wheel, dash light does not come on. tried to set speed just for the heck of it, doesn't work. break lights do work. Also I have good vacuum at the servo.
I have found a lot of posts with "light comes on cruise doesn't work" but none with my situation. can someone give me an idea were to continue t-shooting and maybe a wiring schematic so I can visualize the circuit and maybe get an idea of what it takes to get the cruise light to come on initially. I have an electronics degree so don't worry about speaking in lay terms.
Thanks, A.J.
doibuy 
Copper - Posts: 177
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 31, 2006 at 9:37 PM / IP Logged  

Cruise controls are a fairly simple mechanism, at least the aftermarket ones are.  For example the connections you need for an aftermarket cruise are Ground, Accessory power, Constant (hot) side of brake lights, and Ground (cold) side of brakes lights, VSS, then attach to throttle.  They have a tach connection, but most units you ground the tach, unless it is a manual transmission then you can hook it up, or ground it and use a clutch switch.  And of course the Servo that holds the throttle cable.

Many people think that to disengage the cruise by pressing the brake is because the cruise brain sees positve voltage from the brake lights, however it is actually the absence of Ground that causes the cruise to stop. 

I don't know if any thing I've said here will help you but it may give you a place to start.  Most cruise controls are similar but sometimes the factory ones are a little different.