icon

good setup?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
boomboomtruck 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: November 11, 2006 at 10:57 PM / IP Logged  
i am kinda new to the big stereo systems and currently i have a 87 chevy blazer that i am going to put a pretty nice system in, my plans are to have a pioneer deh-6800 head unit,  2 pioneer 5 1\4 3 ways in the front kick panels, 2 pioneer 6x9 4 ways in the back beside the seat and 2 pionneer 12'' priemer subs and im not sure what amp i should use, also i plan to use 1\0 gauge power and ground wires and 10 or 12 gauge speaker wire. i also plan to upgrade the charging system with a higher amp altenator and a optima battery. one other thing i might have to do is put in a capacitor. feel free to tell me anything i need to know or change in my setup plans.
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 11, 2006 at 11:22 PM / IP Logged  

Best move that you can make is simple here. Listen to speakers and buy the ones your ears prefer. After that, upgrade to a Eclipse cd player due to the inherant noise issues of the Pioneer head units in amplified systems.  Ignore the cap, it is not necessary. Instead of small kick panel speakers, consider going to a set of larger door mounted component speakers, this will incease your ability to recreate sound tenfold. Concentrate on some good and I mean good front speakers as it seems you want to have some serious power in the back on those subs. When that happens you need to have a good set of front speakers and an amp on them to try and keep up with the overwhelming bass coming from the back.

Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
boomboomtruck 
Member spacespace
Posted: November 11, 2006 at 11:28 PM / IP Logged