icon

2004 Dodge Ram remote start advice

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
madmike283 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: November 20, 2006 at 2:59 PM / IP Logged  

Hey everyone, I have some questions regarding adding a remote start to my Ram 1500 SLT Quad Cab 4WD Hemi.  I've searched around here, and with SO much information and a lot of the pro lingo it's hard to come up with the right stuff for me to get.  I'm a newb to car security, etc. but I'm confident in my ability to install this on my own.  I'm an electronics tech in the Navy and pretty mechanically inclined as well.

The Ram has the grey key with factory anti-theft.  Sentry key I believe it's called?  I'd like to retain the factory anti-theft/keyless entry and just add a remote start.  What products are required (bypass kit?) and which r/s, keyless entry do you guys recommend?  I see a couple of the DEI units are recommended here a lot.

Thanks for the help guys.  I'm unfamiliar with the different products, etc. but I'm excited to get something and get it installed. 

Mike

thepencil 
Gold - Posts: 1,526
Gold spacespace
Posted: November 20, 2006 at 3:23 PM / IP Logged  
Mike,
DEI, Compustar, Autostar, Astroflex, Ultrastart,...etc. are all good name. Make sure you get some sort of support if you happen to burn the unit when you are installing it. Ask $$ what they will charge you to get it repair if you screw up the unit..etc. Most places you buy from will not entertaint DIY and newbies, myself including (you burn the unit you buy new a one period), but every shop is different, some do it just for the $$$.
bypass needs:
Bypass kit is one you can take a look at.
The other one is this.
The more expensive bypass are better. Why? Less work on the connection to the vehicle. Well, that is just ones opionion.   You make your own.
DIRECTWIRE™ WIRING INFORMATION - DODGE / RAM PICKUP / 2004 / Remote Start
12volts red (40A), red (40A)   +   ignition harness