icon

My first glass project, 99 Acura 2.3 cl

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
seracis 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 8:48 PM / IP Logged  

I would rather have different subs but those were a gift from a good friend several years ago.  I'm waiting for the "OK" from the Mrs. to get new subs, sub amp and 4 ch. amp.

I think it sounds pretty good.  The amp is weak.  It's an Xtant 200.  It cost me $100 4 years ago and it's still going. 

This was my first project solo from design to build.  I've helped on a few at work but not very much at all.  They don't think I know what I'm talking about when it comes to anything other than tinting, even though I've been installing 12V for 18 years.

The used a jigsaw and a drill on the grill slits.  Drilled holes at each end of the slit and cut between them.  Carpeting wasn't that bad. 

I built the box to hold JL W1's or W3's, depending on the spending budget.  Future amp setup should be JL 500/1 and 300/4 or 450/4.

Just for giggles, I thought I would let you know that there is only 1 port.  The other is a dummy port.  Why?  Because I'm OCD.  I wanted the symmetrical look and according to the JL book of port and enclosure dimensions, 2 ports would have required both ports to be 10 inches or so each.  But with 1 port, it only needed to be 4 inches or so.  It made no sense to me, but I'm not going to argue with their R&D dept.  So, I made the left port with a bottom.  You can't tell even if you are looking straight at it.

Thanks for all the comments.  I wish my wife would let me do something to the Odyssey mini-van.  A couple 10's on a baffle in the back would sound nice but NOOOOOOOOOO.  Not in the mini-van.

integratyper934 
Copper - Posts: 150
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 9:11 PM / IP Logged