the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2002 Chevy Silverado remote start problem


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
quig19 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Joined: February 04, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2007 at 8:24 PM / IP Logged  
 My next door neighbor brought this problem to me....   He had it installed @ "Joe Shmoe" car stereo... I took a look at it to see if I could fix it ... But I have no I dea and thought some of ya'all can help...   The unit is a Design-tech add on part # 25622 remote start. DEI 457GW immobilizer....  I got it to start a couple of times.. but the last time I got it to start it started for 10 sec then shut off waited a little bit unit started again, ran for 20 sec, shut off, started again ran for 30 sec, shut off. Now it won't even initialize when I press the remote.. looks like all the wires are hooked up correctly... I notice he had on star but he says it is not working...  any help would be greatly appreciated...... 
dwbarger 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Joined: March 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2007 at 8:38 PM / IP Logged  
Sounds like the the bypass unit may not be programmed or the white ignition wire is not hooked up as such. May also want to check the sense signal. Most installers use the smart start feature which is ok but is not always the best way to install, I prefer the tach sense unless I have no othe rchoice. As you see thier could be a few things causing this I suggest he take it back and make them fix it. This is a very easy vehicle to do so they have no excuse other than they do not know how to do it.
Hymer 
Silver - Posts: 695
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2007 at 9:11 PM / IP Logged  
Tell them to get the tach at the white wire behinde the cluster.. should idle around 750, 800 rpm there.. they may need to set the tach threshold at a redced rate.. Genrally if it does what you explained its because the idle rpm keeps falling below a threshold. If there is a theft light or the "padlock" indicator is on , then the passlock bypass is not working..
Tire Proz Stillwater Mn
High End Restyling and Comlete Repair
chris354 
Silver - Posts: 253
Silver spacespace
Joined: February 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: January 07, 2007 at 12:00 AM / IP Logged  

As hymer said it sound like a tach issue. But If he has changed the batt in truck since the rs was put on he will have to reprogram the 457g. Also if he has not changed the battery and the bypass is the problem try changing the fuse holder on it they go bad alot. Usually when its the fuse holder the led on the 457 will stay lit up all the time and be really dim.

quig19 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Joined: February 04, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 07, 2007 at 9:48 AM / IP Logged  
thx guys...  He took it back to them on saturday morning and they said everythingwas fine with it.  I looked at it saturday night and that is when everything was going wrong with it.
Velocity Motors 
Moderator - Posts: 12,487
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Fabrication. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 08, 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posted: January 07, 2007 at 1:57 PM / IP Logged  
Also look at the brake wire to see if it's activating by itself. Also, the TACH is a definite thing to look at as well.
Jeff
Velocity Custom Home Theater
Mobile Audio/Video Specialist
Morden, Manitoba CANADA
looney1234 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Joined: January 10, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: January 10, 2007 at 8:55 PM / IP Logged  
did this car today....try grabbing tach behind instrument cluster...its a the only white wire in there..the cluster comes undone with 4 7mm bolts...make sure you power both ignitions and both accessories..
quig19 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Joined: February 04, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 20, 2007 at 12:34 PM / IP Logged  

After many hours chasing wires... I found that the installer put the hood pin switch too close to a bolt in under the hood and it was creating a ground for the RS to notwork.... Thanx guys for all the help


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer