icon

custom led circuit in car

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
implodejl 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: March 09, 2007 at 11:32 PM / IP Logged  

Found this site and forum very helpful but I have a question or maybe two.

I just went to the local electronics surplus store and boughts some LEDs. They weren't packaged or anything special. There wasn't any voltage or specs listed on these though. They shine yellow with green plastic (some are square heads, others are the standard round head). I tried to do some research and I'm getting that they are 2.2v LEDs, but still not 100% sure. I'm going to be making an "LED Tube" to light up the feet area under the glovebox and stearing wheel.

This is what I'm planning on having done. In theory it seems it would work but I'm not an expert at this stuff.

custom led circuit in car - Last Post -- posted image.

I also am pretty sure I need to put a fuse somewhere by the battery but I'm not sure what kind of fuse.

My questions:

1. Will this setup work?

2. Is there special wire I need to purchase since i'm connecting it to the car's battery

3. Since these LEDs are wired parallel, will this drain my car battery? I currently have two 12" subs hooked on a 770 watt amp hooked up to the battery as well.

Is there a better way to do this w/out buying kits

master5 
Silver - Posts: 1,123
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 3:40 PM / IP Logged  

First off...NOTHING you install in the vehicle should kill the battery...unless you do something wrong. If you wire the leds wrong..they will either be too dull (not enough voltage) or burn out fast (too much volage). Either way as long as you do not leave them on when the vehicle is not running..it will not do anything to the battery. Remember that once the vehicle is running..everything electrical is actually a load on the alternator..including the battery..which is being charged during that time.