the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

old speakers to computer


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
inflames989 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Joined: November 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 16, 2007 at 11:25 PM / IP Logged  
Hey, I recently upgraded from my two 12" Kicker Comp speakers to two 12" Kicker CompVRs. With nothing to do with the Comps, I wired them up to my computer sound system. Right now, my computer sound system is the Sharp CD-XP500, wired to the computer via a stereo->RCA converter. Although the subs are working fine, I want to give them a little more power than the sharp offers. Is there such a thing as an amplifier that will plug into the wall, or would I need to get a 12v testbench battery to power an amp? Also, as of right now they're just kind of sitting on the floor. How much of a difference will putting them in a box make? I know that you should try and separate the front wave from the inverse / rear wave as much as possible, but will putting them in a box be worth the money?
Thanks,
Austin
coppellstereo 
Silver - Posts: 785
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: March 16, 2007 at 11:49 PM / IP Logged  
you will need an amp, power inverter, and a box to make those sound proper.
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 1:41 AM / IP Logged  
In my early young experimental days I would have speakers lying aroung on floors, dashboards, rear parcel shelves....like, what's a box?  Go buy a simple little sub for your computer and put these subwoofers to work like they should be worked....in a box, in a car.  Everybody wants to hook things up to their computer now.
Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 8:12 AM / IP Logged  

Couldn't he buy a home theater system plate amp and build a box for the 12's and plate amp?

BTW, inflames989, did upgrading to VR's give you a dramatic difference? Also, i'm assuming your using the same amp/hu that you were with the regular comps?

2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
inflames989 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Joined: November 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 2:18 PM / IP Logged  
ok so a power inverter and box should do the trick
and @jmelton86
yeah, the VR upgrade made a HUGE difference, they're much much louder. I only have them running on 300 watts on a 1ohm load and they pound HARD...I haven't been able to turn them up all the way yet
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 2:25 PM / IP Logged  

Yeah, I thought about upping my 10's to VR's. The 250wrms i've got to 'em (each, of course...) could be used more effectively.

You hadden't been able to turn it up yet cause' they're not broken in yet, but we won't get into that now... I will say nothing slams (when Cold) like it should 'till it's at it's nominal temp. -Another hot topic.

2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
inflames989 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Joined: November 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 2:31 PM / IP Logged  
I would definitely make the upgrade if I were you.
@ coppellstereo, with a power inverter, how would I wire the power and ground connections? Can you recommend any good inverters to look at?
Thanks
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 2:47 PM / IP Logged  
OK... Its a POWER SUPPLY, not an INVERTER! How many times do I have to say it?!?! (OK, I'm sorry I exploded... old speakers to computer -- posted image. )
As far as connecting a POWER SUPPLY, you would simply connect the +12v lead and the remote lead to the +12 volt post on the power supply, and the ground to the negative post.
Your better bet, though, is the plate amp, say something like this... (Scroll all the way to the bottom, and pick the one you like best...) By the time you spend enough money on a power supply with enough current capability to run a car amplifier, AND the car amplifier, you'll have well bought any of those amps presented.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
inflames989 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Joined: November 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 17, 2007 at 3:41 PM / IP Logged  
haemphyst, the plate amp was EXACTLY what I'm looking for, thank you.
Would you advise I get some passive crossovers so that I can filter out the lows from the Sharp speakers and direct those to the subs? 100hz should do the trick, right? That way some of the bass would be going to the standard speakers, but the majority of it would be going to the subs.
Lastly would you recommend I split the RCA cable I have running from the computer via two Y cables or whatever I find to do the trick and running those to the plate amp so the amp receives a direct signal (computer -> plate amp -> sub [in corroboration with the same computer signal -> receiver ->speakers]), or leaving the setup as-is and just wiring the plate amp from the Sharp receiver? (computer -> amplified receiver signal -> plate amp -> sub)?

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 24, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer