icon

impedance

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
y2j514 
Copper - Posts: 94
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2007 at 2:03 PM / IP Logged  

I am somewhat new to the car audio scence and I have read a lot and learned a lot.  However,  I am still a little confused when it comes to impedance.  Lets use my 6"x9" JBLs to help explain.  I have the GTO927 model.  RMS: 100W Max: 300W  Impedance: 2-Ohms.  Now, does 2-Ohms resistance mean that each speaker applies 2-Ohms resistance individually, or does it mean as a pair they do.  Ie.  If i were to connect these 2 speakers to an amplifer.  How much impedance would I be applying to the amplifier?(I know there are different setups which will vary this answer, which is actually what I really want to know, I would just like the basic knowledge so I can calculate and figure out whats the best setup for myself)

I'm sorry if this has been asked before, I did search, I just couldn't find anything else.  If anyone knows a link, or wishes to explain this to me, even in more detail than I asked,  I would greatly appreciate the help.  I used to own a Geo Metro and I had installed a head unit, with 4 speakers and a sub but I didn't pay much attention to specs.  I just made sure I didnt apply to much power to anything.  I just recently bought a new Sunfire and I want to transfer some stuff over and add some more stuff but I want to make sure I do it correctly.  Thank you very much!  I have taken courses in Electricity and Magnetism so I do understand a lot of the physics equations, if that makes it easier to explain.

hellbass212 
Member - Posts: 26
Member spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2007 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged