icon

anything better than stinger?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mr.devil 
Member - Posts: 26
Member spacespace
Posted: May 08, 2007 at 6:09 PM / IP Logged  
I've been using Stinger products for about fifteen years now in all of my installs.  Over the last few years, I've noticed that their quality is slipping.  For example, I had a one farad cap with digital display, leds and neon.  The neon went out about a week after I installed it.  I took it back to the shop where I purchased it and exchanged it no problem.  A few months later, the neon went out again!  I also have the blue led voltage display in my dash.  When I first installed it (using a voltmeter to calibrate), the potentiometer inside wouldn't go above 10.7 volts.  The pot was turned all the way up and the volts at the battery and my connection were around 13 volts.  My other two caps and digital fuse blocks have been fine.  I guess it was put together  wrong.  And last but not least, my "Black Chrome" Pro series battery terminals were nice and shiny when I installed them about a year ago, now they look like crap!  I have two pair in a  vented (not totally sealed up) battery rack in my wall connected to two SP1000 batteries.  My buddy has the same terminals in the back of his Tahoe and they almost look chrome instead of "Black Chrome".  I don't mean to whine, I could go on, but I think everybody gets the idea.  Has anyone else had problems with Stinger products?  Is there anything better?  How is the Tsunami stuff?
Devil's_Workshop
sedate 
Silver - Posts: 1,173
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 08, 2007 at 7:33 PM / IP Logged  

mr.devil wrote:
Is there anything better?

I like Stinger in general . . .  the price for thier stuff is much more inline with what I think stereo interconnects are worth.