the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

speedometer and odometer not working

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2007 at 2:15 PM / IP Logged  

Vehicle: 1994 Honda Accord DX.

The Speedo and odometer work interminttingly, although lately neither has been working. Sometimes the speedometer will all of the sudden just start working, then stops.

At any rate, I have little experience with this type of mechanical work, (just did the brakes on it, damn that was a pain-who puts hubs out side of the rotors!! Lame) so what would be the next move in solving this problem?

KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,527
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: June 24, 2007 at 12:41 AM / IP Logged  

The first step would be to identify how the speedo works.  Is it cable driven or electronic?  If its cable make sure the cable is solid from the tranny to the dash.  If it is electronic you will need to find the speed sensor and make sure it is working.

The odometer most likely works off of the speedo, so if you fix the speedo it should fix the odometer.

Kevin Pierson
dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 24, 2007 at 1:06 PM / IP Logged  

OK, I will look in to this. I believe it is cable driven, and I didn't know it was hooked up to my tranny. I have a manual if that makes a difference.

Thank you for the response.

Installer_mss 
Copper - Posts: 221
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 24, 2007 at 11:46 PM / IP Logged