lighting project using 44 leds

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rehtro 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: July 14, 2007 at 7:35 AM / IP Logged  

Hello.

I'm looking to get help in designing a simple circuit to run 44 LEDs off of a 12v power supply.

I have very little experience in electronics, and from the little I've read/found out this is pretty simple.

This is what I'm trying to do:

I have 44 LEDs purchased from superbright leds

10 RL5-R12008 red LEDs @50 mA

9 RL5-G13008 green LEDs @ 30 mA
10 RL5-O5015 orange LEDs @ 20 mA
5 RL5-Y10008 yellow LEDs @ 50 mA
9 RL5-B4630 blue LEDs @ 30 mA
1 BA9S-G @ 18 mA

The LEDs are divided between 15 different groups:

1) 7 reds

2) 7 blues
3) 7 greens
4) 7 oranges

5) 4 yellows

6) 2 oranges
7) 2 reds

8) 1 blue

9) 1 green

10) 1 yellow

11) 1 red

12) 1 blue
13) 1 green
14) 1 orange

15) 1 green

These colors (LEDs) are being displayed through two to three different types of plastic, therefore yeilding a different glow/intensity.

What I'm trying to accomplish is to have a potentiometer per group. Thus 15 different potentiometers. The potentiometers will be used to equalize (dim) the different colors/groups so that all the leds glow at about the same intensity. Wired in parallel.

Aside from the LEDs, I have a 12v .21A computer power supply.

I'm looking at using a separate resistor per LED (excluding the BA9s-G since it's already protected). The reason being is that once the LEDs are in place, they won't be easy to access. If a resistor should fail, I rather replace its respective led rather than the group.

1) What resistors do I get -all 44 separate 470 ohm resistors or does the value of resistor change per different LED color?

2) what potentiometers do I need for each different group? I'm looking at being able to dim each group to zero.