icon

all professional installers

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
adz1910 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Posted: July 24, 2007 at 7:22 AM / IP Logged  

hi, im just posting to ask some advice really, i am extremely interested in car audio electronics and really want to become an apprentice/trainee for an installer company, i am going to write some letters to companys in the area asking them about positions.

i guess what i want to know is, what do they look for? i will need to be trained, i have no real experience apart from working with my own car (nothing special) will i need qualifications to get into this business? or can they be earned by training? i really dont want to go back to college and would rather learn on the job but if thats what it takes then so be it. I am currently 19 and live near london UK. I would love to do bespoke boot builds and custom installs professionally, and really have a thing for sq.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

thanks

Adam

haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 24, 2007 at 9:39 AM / IP Logged  
I can't speak for the UK, but I can say that requirements here in the States are FAR stiffer than they used to be. Most places (at least the "Big Box" stores) won't hire you on without at LEAST some sort of formal training, or a couple of years in the industry.